Wednesday, October 05, 2005

Non Ritardando!

I was typing up vocab for psych last night and today because I was (and still am) trying to learn them, and after typing one I realized that I hadn't been paying attention and thus had no idea what I had just typed. It turned out that the term I was on was this: Subliminal perception – the registration of sensory input without conscious awareness.

Today was a fairly good day. I have so much to tell but so little time. Today was crazy. My psych exam is tomorrow and my calc exam is Monday. Plus, I have a German quiz tomorrow.

So I went to class today... German, calc, and linguistics lecture. German was typical. I had to keep repeating "Familie" though because apparently I wasn't pronouncing it correctly. Then there was calc. He was passing out the graded homework and I was half paying attention when I heard "Sarah's not here yet". I looked up to see him laying a homework onto the table and the continue distributing the homework. I was confused because 1) obviously I was there, 2) I didn't hear him call out my name to give me back the homework, and 3) how did he know who I was anyway. I examined the paper on the table from my seat in the first row and concluded that it looked like mine. A couple minutes later he returned to the front of the room, looked at me, gave me a confused look, and said "Are you Sarah?" I said yes and he gave me my homework and said something along the lines of "you must've slipped in"... yeah, I was definitely there the whole time since before he came to class and in the front row too. Anyway... linguistics was typical. I think I did fairly bad on the quiz, but whatever. The professor was being cute today... he just did some cute things. Did I mention that I think he's hot? Ok, so he's not that great... it's just a metter of opinion. His accent is great though.

I studied for psych at lunch until Alison and Erin joined me. Then I went to my German professor's office hours because we were forced to make an appointment to meet with her. That went really well. I had to speak in German for the first part, but it went well. She mentioned that she has noticed that I am the type of person who will only speak corectly instead of talking and talking and making a bunch of mistakes. She also said that I seem shy. I guess I kind of am, but it's more of reservation and indifference than shyness. Then I went to my calc professor's office hours and that also went fairly well. He went over some of the past stuff, such as reparametization and osculation and normal planes, and that was good because I was confused. Then he helped with some of the "weekly homework", except he kept getting confused and would stare at the chalkboard for minutes at a time. At the end he said, "I've been puzzled twice today. That's not good." One of the things he was puzzled about was a part of the homework. Yes, he could not do part of the homework he assigned for us to do. How encouraging.

I just had a flashback to when we were at a concert (I think) somewhere with the youth group and we were eating lunch in the van. I think it was the time when we lost Dustin. I don't know why I thought of it. I was listening to "Believe" by the Newsboys and the image just popped into my head.

I've been hearing a ton of sirens this semester. I think they were drowned out last year because I was lower to the ground. Now that I'm 5 stories up, I hear these things better. I don't know if that's a good thing or not.

Campus Band was ok tonight. The conductor said our sound has been getting better with each rehearsal. I don't know though. I hope we'll be ready by the concert. He's a character, he really is. He's just nuts sometimes. There was this one thing about pirates... hard to explain. You'd have to be there. At least he keeps us entertained for the 2 horus we're smushed in a small hot room. We did more singing today and I liked that.

I'm still sick and it is NOT pleasant.

3 Comments:

At 10/06/2005 9:37 AM, Blogger McJiffers said...

Ah! Pirates! This guy is cool.

I hope you get better.

 
At 10/06/2005 6:26 PM, Blogger Tina said...

That's really strange how your Calc prof didn't see that you were there, and he HAS to know your name, it's not like it's a big class, right? He must not have had enough coffee in the morning.

 
At 10/06/2005 9:31 PM, Blogger Sarah said...

Actually... he said during office hours that he only knows about 3 of our names.

 

Post a Comment

<< Home