Friday, April 21, 2006

Bananas are good for you.

So... I have a phonology take home exam, a syntax problem set, and a German paper to write by Monday. I'm not going to get it all done. Yeah, I'm that pathetic. It's just that they all will take a ton of thought, thought that can't be rushed. And because the take home exam is the most crucial, I will not start the other two until I satisfactorily finish the final. I made some headway on it Wednesday evening, but not a lot. But then yesterday I worked for hours on it after going to office hours. I turned it in this afternoon. When I went to the linguistics office to turn it in, the lady who I've talked to every time jokingly said, "Just because you declared linguistics doesn't mean you have to be here everyday!".

I'm pretty sure that Jenny was having some sort of mental breakdown on Wednesday night.

Ellie moved out today. It's sad.

What have I learned in this semester, this school year?
I learned:
-that 9am classes are not bad when you don't have a roommate that keeps you awake all night. (I thought of this one in the shower this morning)
-that there are some really awesome professors and staff here.
-that there are a lot of resources here at the University.
-that standing on unstable chairs in the dark will turn out badly.
-that Jenny doesn't like it when I lean back in my chair.
-that I care deeply for my sandals.
-a ton about the history of German.
-about the logistics of health insurance.
-how to do triple integrals.
-that products of South Africa are very appealing.
-that apple juice bottles will break when you drop them on a tiled floor.
-that I'm happier when I have things to do (even work) than when I have nothing.
To Be Continued.

3 Comments:

At 4/23/2006 3:51 PM, Blogger Alecia said...

So when are you going to Germany anyway? The other day I saw a book in German at Good Will and thought about getting it for you. I forgot what it was called. I ment to send you more cookies, but I guess things have been pretty busy. You should go to church sometime.

 
At 4/24/2006 10:03 AM, Blogger Sarah said...

You should've got it! I would've flipped out!!!

Assuming that I am going, I don't know when I would leave for Germany... probably either August or September. I would be there until sometime in August 2007.

Cookies are nice... :) I'll be moving out soon though.

 
At 4/26/2006 2:43 PM, Blogger Alecia said...

Maybe it will still be there next time I go back. They reason why I want to know when you would be going is because Joel and I are engaged and I want to know when you are leaving. I suppose I should wait to tell you in person but oh well. Of course you will be the maid of honor and we were planning to have it around August 19th. I'm excited. Let me know when you're coming up again.

 

Post a Comment

<< Home