Death by Desk Chair
Tonight I was sitting sideways in my desk chair leaning back like I always do and talking to Tina. Suddenly I lost control and was hurtling towards my inevitable death by falling chair. As I was falling, what do you suppose I was thinking? “Uh-oh, protect my head”? “Ah, this might hurt”? “Oh, crap”? No, none of those. I was thinking, “Oh no! I hope the chair doesn’t land on my sandals!” Yes, it’s true. My sandals mean more to me than life itself. The fall was followed by intense laughter. Then maybe 15 minutes later it happened again, and I didn’t do it on purpose either! Who would tip their chair with themselves in it on purpose?
I would like to drop my environment class because it’s stupid and boring and it had a lot of writing and I don’t like it. I might take a 1-credit class in it’s place, but then I’d only have 14 credits. I would feel like a slacker.
Discombobulate is a fun word. Ben used it in his post and Tina and I were discussing it tonight.
I finished my paragraph for German tomorrow. I’m not sure if I actually did what I was supposed to for the assignment, but whatever. I kind of like the paragraph so he can just shut-up if he doesn’t. Ok, I would never tell him to shut-up… I mean, you have to have respect and I do respect him.
This evening we had a surprise birthday party for my calc professor from last semester. Kevin set it all up. He had contacted Chris’s (the prof) officemate, Andy, but Andy was out of town for the week. So Andy got his girlfriend to make sure that Chris was going to be there. She set up something and so everything was good to go for us at 6pm tonight. Chris had class until 6pm, and so we all met in the East Hall lobby thing and were waiting to go to his office and surprise him. Around 6:10ish, they saw someone go into the bathroom who looked kind of like Chris, so one guy followed the guy in there. He came out and said, “I don’t think it’s him… I couldn’t see his face… he was peeing.” Then Kevin said, “Then it can’t be him; British guys don’t pee!” Ok, that comment was a little weird but it was funny. They were all sitting by the wall and I was leaning against a pillar. I looked up and saw Chris coming from the stairwell and I kind of stared at him to make sure it was him, but I tried not to make eye contact because I didn’t want to seem conspicuous. It seemed like he saw us but he didn’t say anything and just kept walking, and by that time the others were hitting each other to shut-up. So a few minutes later we went to his office with the carrot cake (Chris’s favorite) and sang “Happy Birthday” to him. He seemed surprised and it seemed like he enjoyed it. He said that he thought it was me that he saw standing there in the lobby. It was fun and I got my final exam back. It was a 60% B.
Songs from camp make me nostalgic.
Overall, today was a nice day.

1 Comments:
This is Leslie, too lazy to really sign in.
Discombobulated was a Buzz word in one of the issues of American Girl.
My Great Political Thinkers prof is a UM grad...he doesn't let us forget.
AND...it's really sad that they will tear down that building...it sounds like a really cool old building...much like all of UM buildings...there are a few like that at CMU, but not many...I haven't been in them all, but two are Warriner and Powers...and Sloan too. That makes three.
Post a Comment
<< Home