I feel educated.
Today wasn't like I expected it to be. Instead of it being "finally classes are over", it was a little sad. It reminded me of the last day of school in grade school (with the exception of my senior year... it wasn't that sad).
The great books lecture was good and at the end Professor Camerson gave a very nice little speech that contained many good points. He basically summed up the whole semester, saying what the main themes of the books were and how these books presented "universal human concerns in unforgetable ways." He spoke about the importance of humanities in a vocational sense (contrary to popular belief), and that led into the section about not choosing a career when you're young (or not being forced to choose a career when you're young, as it is done in many high schools) because you do not know what your interests will be in 10 years. He said that that is why you would take a wide variety of classes to set up a base so you can go wherever you want from there, instead of getting on a certain track and being constrained to it. These two points are things I have known and believed for a while.
Then in German we watched the rest of the roleplays, and at the end of class we took a class picture. Music theory was wrapped up nicely, and Jani gave us candy in calc. It was such a great semester that it's sad to be done with it.
Leslie and Ben have the same blog style and Ross and someone else on my list have the same blog style... and they're all right next to each other on my list. It confuses me sometimes.
I looked into getting my books for next semester. They didn't have a lot of the books, but I'm thinking it will cost around $500. It's $125 for just my great books books or $94 if I can get all my great books books used. My physics stuff looks like it will be around $200 or more and my German stuff will most likely be over $100. I don't know if I need a new math book or not.
I started thinking about my paper that is due Saturday. Thanks to Vanessa, I have a topic (she randomly picked topic #10): "Discuss the portrait of Socrates created in Aristophanes' The Clouds. What is its humor based on, and why is it inaccurate as a realistic depiction of the Socrates of The Apology of Socrates?" It's not a bad topic, but I'd rather research Socrates and sophists instead of analyzing the books.
Because of Ross's bio grade, I've been trying to remember what I got on my calc semester exam last January. I know it was a D+ with the "curve", but I don't remember the exact percent. It might've been either 108/200 or 112/200... 122/200 is also a possibility.
***New picture on ImageStation***

3 Comments:
Since when have we had the same blog style? Or is this some other Ben you are speaking of? Hmm....
You and Leslie had the same blog style... but Leslie has now changed hers.
Ahhh, I see. For a moment I thought all the stress of college work had got to your head and you had gone crazy.
Post a Comment
<< Home